Stay

He says that blue
Is the colour of life,
And therefore is his favourite.
Tonight I will wear
My baby blue dress
With the pretty red sash.
If I look nice enough,
Maybe he will stay.

Tonight when he visits,
I’ll wear the gifts he sent –
The sparkly earrings from Spain,
And beads from India,
Even the funny Mexican hat –
To show him I treasure them.
He’ll see I love them all,
So maybe he will stay.

I shan’t be a bother;

I’ll be good and behave.
But I’ll smooch his hairy face
And never let him go.
I’ll hold him forever,
And say I love him so.
If my Daddy knows how much I love him,
Then maybe he will stay.

Image via Tumblr

 

One thought on “Stay

Leave a Reply

